SHA Awards Winners Announced for 2020-21 Season



By Hockey Saskatchewan

May 18th, 2021 - Following the conclusion of the 2020-21 season, the Saskatchewan Hockey Association is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 SHA Awards. Each year through a nomination process, the SHA Awards highlight the outstanding volunteers from the North and South, outstanding Coach and Minor Hockey Association. Congratulations to Christin Glowa, Mike Weger, Curtis Hextall and Moosomin Minor Hockey Association on being the recipients of this year’s SHA Awards.

Volunteer of the Year - North

Christina Glowa (Delisle, SK) has played an intricate role within Delisle Minor Hockey Association (DMHA) beginning all the way back in 2008 when she joined as Treasurer. Christina spends hours meticulously balancing books, providing membership with financial reports, collecting fees, paying bills and so much more. In addition to DMHA Treasurer, Christina is also manager of her kids’ minor hockey teams. In addition to volunteering on the board and on minor hockey teams, Christina also sits on the Delisle Bruins Celebration of Hockey Committee; a committee that organizes an annual fundraising event, in partnership with the Delisle Senior Hockey Team and the DMHA. For her continuous commitment to volunteering with the DMHA, Christina is a much deserving recipient of the Volunteer of the Year Award – North.

Volunteer of the Year - South

Mike Weger (Weyburn, SK) began his volunteering with Weyburn Minor Hockey Association (WMHA) in 2014 and never stopped. Always volunteering as the position of manager on various minor hockey teams, Mike was also approached to join the WMHA board of directors and happily obliged. When it was identified that there was no female U15 hockey opportunity within Weyburn, Mike took it upon himself to recruit both females players and coaches to fill the gap. During the month of March, Mike took the lead role for the “Make Hockey More” initiative and was single handedly responsible for scheduling +120 ice times for groups of 8 (COVID restrictions) for ages under-9 through under-11. When plans for instructors at the event fell through, Mike stepped in and coordinated parents and coaches to run sessions and even ran some himself. For his outstanding dedication to volunteerism with hockey in Saskatchewan, Mike is more than worthy of the Volunteer of the Year Award – South.

Coach of the Year

Curtis Hextall (Balgonie, SK) is better known as “Coach Curly” among the players. Recognizing that there was no opportunity for a female A U18 players, Curtis was quick to step in, recruit players, coaches and even going as far to recruit goalies from different sports to join. His hard work recruiting was rewarded with the acceptance of a Female “A” U18 team to the South Saskatchewan Female Hockey League the following year. Curtis encouraged player development, fostered a fun environment and made every player on his team feel supported. His coaching reputation became well known, for the following year very little recruitment was needed, as there were so many girls ready to join the newly accepted team that it was split into two teams to ensure adequate player development for all. Players remarked that the best years of their hockey career was player for “Coach Curly”. For his outstanding dedication to coaching and developing female minor hockey with Prairie Storm Minor Hockey Association, Curtis is much deserving of the SHA Outstanding Coach of the Year Award.

Minor Hockey Association of the Year

Moosomin Minor Hockey Association (Moosomin, SK) has a board consisting of 12 members and roughly 175 playing members in its organization. Prior to the start of the 2019-20 season, MMHA sought out sponsorship to assist with the renovation of dressing rooms at the local arena. In addition to dressing rooms, the board of directors also fundraised and installed a new clock in the hockey arena. Even with COVID restrictions being implemented mid-season, MMHA board of directors strove to follow all protocols to ensure safe and continued hockey development for as long as possible throughout the season. At the height of restrictions, the association and town decided to cut ice rates in half for the remainder of the season to encourage hockey teams to continue to remain on the ice. Through the dedication of the board of directors and the MMHA members, a complete season of 2 practices per week per team was achieved right up until the end of the season on March 1st. Moosomin Minor Hockey Association’s dedication to keeping kids safe and on the ice, while adapting to seasonal restrictions unlike any other season, makes them ideal candidates for SHA’s Outstanding Minor Hockey Association of the Year Award.

Congratulations to all of our award recipients, as well as to all those nominated. Without your tremendous dedication and support, hockey in Saskatchewan would not be possible.


The Saskatchewan Hockey Association (SHA) was established in 1912 and is the governing body for organized hockey in the Province of Saskatchewan. With a mission to Lead, Develop and Promote Positive Hockey Experiences, the SHA encourages competition at all levels – from recreational to high performance. SHA has grown through the years and is Saskatchewan’s largest sports organization with over 43,000 members comprised of players, coaches, and officials. For more information on the Saskatchewan Hockey Association, please visit or follow them through social media on Facebook and Twitter.

Back to all News