Hurricanes Defenceman Chadwick Awarded Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy as WHL Scholastic Player of the Year for 2023-24



By Taylor Rocca via Western Hockey League

CALGARY, Alta. – The Western Hockey League announced today that Lethbridge Hurricanes defenceman and Toronto Maple Leafs prospect Noah Chadwick has been awarded the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy as the WHL Scholastic Player of the Year for the 2023-24 season. 
WHL Scholastic Player of the Year Finalists

  • B.C. Division – Andrew Thomson, Kamloops Blazers
  • East Division – Kolten Bridgeman, Regina Pats
  • U.S. Division – Berkly Catton, Spokane Chiefs

Chadwick not only prioritized his academics, he excelled in the classroom, graduating Grade 12 a year early and beginning his post-secondary studies at Athabasca University and Lethbridge College. At his high-school graduation, Chadwick was recognized with the Governor General Award, presented to the student with the highest grades in his graduating class.
“I’m extremely honoured and thankful to be selected for the WHL’s Doc Seaman Award,” Chadwick said. “It’s a privilege and I’m really fortunate to be able to continue my education while playing in the WHL. It’s great to be able to pursue the highest level of hockey while also pursuing an education. It’s important to show kids that they can pursue their hockey and career goals while also pursuing an education at the same time.”
At Lethbridge College, Chadwick earned a 98-percent average in English 1150 – Academic Writing this fall. Working through Introduction to Statistics at Athabasca University, Chadwick secured a 93-percent average, while also recording a 91-percent grade in Psychology as a Natural Science. 
Chadwick has been recognized for his outstanding contributions in the community and serves as a leader for his teammates, both on and off the ice. 
“My father was a trailblazer in promoting hockey and a higher education,” said Bob Seaman, son of Doc Seaman. “Doc was a staunch supporter of Hockey Canada and the Western Hockey League’s efforts to prioritize both academics and hockey development. 
“Let us all come together to congratulate Noah Chadwick, the 2024 Scholastic Player of the Year Award winner.”
Chadwick is the fourth player in Lethbridge Hurricanes history to be named WHL Scholastic Player of the Year and the first since defenceman Bryce Salvador in 1995-96. 
Selected by the Maple Leafs in the sixth round (185th overall) of the 2023 NHL Draft, Chadwick has enjoyed success on the ice this season, logging career highs in points (56), goals (12), and assists (44). 
The 6-foot-4, 200-pound defenceman was originally selected by the Hurricanes in the second round (38th overall) of the 2020 WHL Prospects Draft. In 146 career WHL Regular Season games, he has tallied 79 points (19G-60A). 
Committed to recognizing academic excellence, the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy for WHL Scholastic Player of the Year is presented annually to the WHL player who has excelled both in the classroom and on the ice during the WHL Regular Season. 
One of Canada’s leading philanthropists, the trophy is named in memory of Mr. Doc Seaman, who played a vital role in establishing the WHL’s Education Program. The program ensures players in the WHL can develop their skills on the ice at the highest level without compromising their academic goals. 
The 2023-24 campaign serves as the 31st year of the WHL Scholarship program. Established on a league-wide basis in 1993-94, nearly 8,000 WHL Scholarships have been awarded, representing an investment of over $35 million by WHL Clubs. This season, WHL Clubs will contribute in excess of $2.5 million to 350 WHL graduates utilizing the WHL Scholarship. 
First awarded for the 1983-84 WHL season, the Scholastic Player of the Year Trophy was named in honour of Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman in 1996. 
The WHL remains committed to recognizing academic excellence. All WHL players are encouraged to enroll in post-secondary courses, with these courses fully-funded by WHL Clubs. 
Upon graduating from the WHL, every player who plays in the WHL is eligible to receive the WHL Scholarship. Every player who plays in the WHL is eligible to receive the WHL Scholarship. For every season a player plays in the WHL, they receive a guaranteed, full-year WHL Scholarship including tuition, textbooks and compulsory fees to a post-secondary institution of their choice. The WHL Scholarship is a full-guaranteed academic scholarship with no requirement to play university hockey to qualify. The WHL graduate can apply the funding to any post-secondary or career-enhancing program of his choice, including trades schools or professional career training programs. 
The WHL Scholastic Player of the Year Award was voted upon by WHL General Managers and members of the media. 
Winners of the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy (since 2004)

  • 2023-24: Noah Chadwick, Lethbridge Hurricanes
  • 2022-23: Quinn Mantei, Brandon Wheat Kings
  • 2021-22: Connor Levis, Kamloops Blazers
  • 2020-21: Ethan Peters, Edmonton Oil Kings
  • 2019-20: Dylan Garand, Kamloops Blazers
  • 2018-19: Dustin Wolf, Everett Silvertips*
  • 2017-18: Ty Smith, Spokane Chiefs
  • 2016-17: Brian King, Everett Silvertips
  • 2015-16: Tanner Kaspick, Brandon Wheat Kings
  • 2014-15: Nick McBride, Prince Albert Raiders
  • 2013-14: Nelson Nogier, Saskatoon Blades
  • 2012-13: Josh Morrissey, Prince Albert Raiders*
  • 2011-12: Ried Gow, Spokane Chiefs
  • 2010-11: Colin Smith, Kamloops Blazers
  • 2009-10: Adam Lowry, Swift Current Broncos
  • 2008-09: Stefan Elliott, Saskatoon Blades
  • 2007-08: Jordan Eberle, Regina Pats
  • 2006-07: Keith Aulie, Brandon Wheat Kings
  • 2005-06: Brennen Wray, Moose Jaw Warriors
  • 2004-05: Gilbert Brule, Vancouver Giants*
  • 2003-04: Devan Dubnyk, Kamloops Blazers*

 * – also selected as the Canadian Hockey League Scholastic Player of the Year

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL offers a world-class player experience featuring three key cornerstones: hockey development, education, and a safe and positive environment for all participants. A diverse and inclusive organization, the WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 16 located in Western Canada and six in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for close to 60 years. The WHL is also a leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 375 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team. 

Back to all News