Team Saskatchewan Female U18 Squad Named for NWU-18



By Hockey Saskatchewan

REGINA, Sask. – Hockey Saskatchewan is proud to present a roster of 20 exceptional players chosen to represent the province at the 2023 National Women’s Under-18 Championship (NWU-18).

Poised to make a significant impact, the Team Saskatchewan Female U18 squad is gearing up for a journey to Dawson Creek, B.C., where they will compete in the tournament scheduled from November 5 to 11, 2023.

Team Saskatchewan will include five (5) returning players who competed at the 2023 Canada Winter Games from the previous season. Those players are Avery Bairos (Saskatoon), Sage Babey (Saskatoon), Avery Gottselig (Regina), Brooklyn Nimegeers (Moose Jaw), and Ireland Stein (Saskatoon).

The full roster of 2006/2007-born players can be viewed HERE.

“These young athletes, who've dedicated themselves to Hockey Saskatchewan's high-performance program over the past three seasons, stand as shining examples of unwavering commitment. They've tirelessly honed their skills, earning their place on the threshold of an incredible milestone – the National Women's U18 Championship,” said Joel Houseman, Director of Operations of Sask First. “From intense training camps to hard-fought tournaments, they've showcased their resilience and passion. Team Saskatchewan is ready to carry the legacy forward, wearing their pride on their sleeves as they represent our province on the national stage."

Prior to donning the Team Canada jersey, the rising stars of women's hockey make their inaugural appearance on the Canadian stage at the NWU-18 championship. This highly-anticipated event unites eight provincial and regional teams – Alberta, Atlantic, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario Blue, Ontario Red, Quebec, and Saskatchewan – as they commence a five-game quest over five days, all vying for the coveted gold medal.

Since the inception of the tournament in 2001, Team Saskatchewan made its greatest achievement at the 2019 NWU-18 by capturing a silver medal after a 3-1 loss to Ontario Red – who have captured 12 of 13 championships. The tournament is not contested during the same season as the quadrennial Canada Winter Games.

November’s NWU-18 schedule and additional information will be released by Hockey Canada in the near future.

Team Saskatchewan will be led by head coach Robin Ulrich. She will be joined by assistant coaches Alana Serhan and Kori Herner along with video/goaltending coach Angela Mallory, equipment manager Colleen Compton and athletic therapist Emma Galloway.

To keep up-to-date with Team Saskatchewan on their National Women’s U18 Championship quest, follow us on FacebookInstagram, and X.


The Sask First Program, introduced by Hockey Saskatchewan in 1988, has been a source of immense pride and achievement in our province. This high-performance initiative was crafted with the dual goal of enhancing the game's comprehension and nurturing the growth of exceptional players, coaches, trainers, officials, and administrators. It empowers participants, enriching them as individuals, fostering self-satisfaction, and enhancing their enjoyment within the hockey community.


Hockey Saskatchewan was established in 1912 and is the governing body for organized hockey in the Province of Saskatchewan. With a mission to Lead, Develop and Promote Positive Hockey Experiences, Hockey Saskatchewan encourages competition at all levels – from recreational to high performance. Hockey Saskatchewan has grown through the years and is Saskatchewan’s largest sports organization with over 40,000 members comprised of players, coaches, and officials. For more information, please visit or follow us on Facebook, X, and Instagram.

Back to all News