Giants Netminder Mirwald Named Recipient of Del Wilson Memorial Trophy as WHL Goaltender of the Year for 2023-24



By Cami Kepke via Western Hockey League

CALGARY, Alta. – Vancouver Giants netminder Brett Mirwald has been named the recipient of the Del Wilson Memorial Trophy as the WHL Goaltender of the Year for the 2023-24 season, the Western Hockey League announced Tuesday.

WHL Goaltender of the Year – Division Winners

  • Central Division – Harrison Meneghin (South Surrey, B.C.), Lethbridge Hurricanes
  • East Division – Jackson Unger (Calgary, Alta.), Moose Jaw Warriors
  • U.S. Division – Jan Spunar (Olomouc, Czechia), Portland Winterhawks

“I'm very grateful to be awarded the Del Wilson Memorial Trophy,” Mirwald said. “I'd like to thank the entire Vancouver Giants organization for believing in me and helping me to achieve this honor. It's been a privilege to represent this organization. I'd also like to thank my teammates and coaches for their help and sacrifice this season and helping me to achieve this award. I would lastly like to say thanks to all my past coaches, for helping me to get to this point, as well as my family for their unwavering support.”

The 20-year-old played a critical role in Vancouver’s push to secure the sixth seed in the Western Conference, posting a 29-22-3-0 record and two shutouts.

Mirwald led all WHL netminders in saves (1,723) and minutes played (3,190) while tying for third in save percentage (.913) and wins (29). He registered a goals-against average of 3.10.

The Saskatoon, Sask. product turned aside 40-plus shots on 10 occasions, including two outings where he made 50 or more saves.

Mirwald made a season-high 51 stops on December 8 against Everett and made another 50 saves on December 31 at Portland.

Perhaps his most impressive performance came on January 6 in Brandon, where he steered away 48 shots in a 4-0 shutout victory.

The 6-foot-1, 180-pound goaltender snagged Giuseppe WHL Goaltender of the Week honours five times in the regular season.

Originally selected by the Moose Jaw Warriors in the seventh round, 154th overall, of the 2018 WHL Prospects Draft, Mirwald graduates from the WHL with a career record of 42-43-8-1, a 3.23 goals-against average, a .907 save percentage and two shutouts.  

Mirwald is the first Vancouver Giants netminder to be named WHL Goaltender of the Year.

The Del Wilson Memorial Trophy honours a WHL goaltender deemed to be the most outstanding during the WHL Regular Season.

A goaltender himself, Delbert “Del” Wilson played for the Regina Abbotts and Regina Pats in the 1940s. Following the conclusion of his playing career, Wilson found success in the coaching ranks, winning 35 provincial hockey championships in Saskatchewan.

A co-founder of the WHL and long-time General Manager of the Regina Pats, Wilson played a direct role in the League’s formation. Along with Jim Piggott, Wilson helped lead the unification of all three Major Junior leagues across Canada into what is now known as the Canadian Hockey League.

Leading a group of investors, Wilson brought the Pats back into the WHL for the 1970-71 WHL Regular Season and oversaw their WHL Championship and Memorial Cup victories in 1974 as President and General Manager.

Wilson maintained ownership of the Pats until 1980.

Serving as a scout in Western Canada for the Montreal Canadiens until 1995, Wilson was presented with three Stanley Cup rings throughout his 47 years of service to the NHL club.

Among Wilson’s many contributions to the WHL, he served as referee-in-chief from 1978 to 1980.

In 2005, Wilson was named as one of four inaugural recipients of the WHL Governors Award, presented to individuals for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the WHL.

Winners of the Del Wilson Memorial Trophy (since 2003)


Brett Mirwald, Vancouver Giants


Thomas Milic, Seattle Thunderbirds


Dylan Garand, Kamloops Blazers*


Dustin Wolf, Everett Silvertips


Dustin Wolf, Everett Silvertips*


Ian Scott, Prince Albert Raiders*


Carter Hart, Everett Silvertips*


Carter Hart, Everett Silvertips*


Carter Hart, Everett Silvertips*


Taran Kozun, Seattle Thunderbirds


Jordon Cooke, Kelowna Rockets


Patrik Bartosak, Red Deer Rebels*


Tyler Bunz, Medicine Hat Tigers


Darcy Kuemper, Red Deer Rebels*


Martin Jones, Calgary Hitmen


Chet Pickard, Tri-City Americans


Chet Pickard, Tri-City Americans*


Carey Price, Tri-City Americans*


Justin Pogge, Calgary Hitmen*


Jeff Glass, Kootenay ICE*


Cam Ward, Red Deer Rebels*


Josh Harding, Regina Pats

* – also selected as Canadian Hockey League Goaltender of the Year

About the Western Hockey League
Regarded as the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players, the Western Hockey League (WHL) head office is based in Calgary, Alberta. The WHL offers a world-class player experience featuring three key cornerstones: hockey development, education, and a safe and positive environment for all participants. A diverse and inclusive organization, the WHL consists of 22 member Clubs with 16 located in Western Canada and six in the U.S. Pacific Northwest. A member of the Canadian Hockey League, the WHL has been a leading supplier of talent for the National Hockey League for close to 60 years. The WHL is also a leading provider of hockey scholarships with over 375 graduates each year receiving WHL Scholarships to pursue a post-secondary education of their choice. Each season, WHL players also form the nucleus of Canada’s National Junior Hockey Team. 

Back to all News